This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Netherlands

Netherlands is made up of 13 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Netherlands. Information on all primary administrative regions in Netherlands.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Netherlands alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Netherlands

There are 13 regions in Netherlands in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Netherlands
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
North Holland Provincie Noord-Holland1.2,498,931Amsterdam Amsterdam741,636
Utrecht Provincie Utrecht2.1,170,622Utrecht Utrecht290,529
Groningen Provincie Groningen3.609,768Groningen Groningen181,194
North Holland Provincie Noord-Holland4.2,498,931Haarlem Haarlem147,590
Gelderland Provincie Gelderland5.2,080,675Arnhem Arnhem141,674
North Brabant Provincie Noord-Brabant6.2,331,709's-Hertogenbosch 's-Hertogenbosch134,520
Limburg Provincie Limburg7.1,091,697Maastricht Maastricht122,378
Overijssel Provincie Overijssel8.1,065,667Zwolle Zwolle111,805
Friesland Provincie Friesland9.649,777Leeuwarden Leeuwarden91,424
Flevoland Provincie Flevoland10.368,224Lelystad Lelystad70,741
Drenthe Provincie Drenthe11.463,663Assen Assen62,237
Zeeland Provincie Zeeland12.410,398Middelburg Middelburg46,485
South Holland Provincie Zuid-Holland13.3,581,452--