This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Netherlands

Netherlands is made up of 13 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Netherlands. Information on all primary administrative regions in Netherlands.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Netherlands alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Netherlands

There are 13 regions in Netherlands in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Netherlands
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
South Holland Provincie Zuid-Holland1.3,581,452--
North Brabant Provincie Noord-Brabant2.2,331,709's-Hertogenbosch 's-Hertogenbosch134,520
North Holland Provincie Noord-Holland3.2,498,931Amsterdam Amsterdam741,636
Gelderland Provincie Gelderland4.2,080,675Arnhem Arnhem141,674
Drenthe Provincie Drenthe5.463,663Assen Assen62,237
Groningen Provincie Groningen6.609,768Groningen Groningen181,194
North Holland Provincie Noord-Holland7.2,498,931Haarlem Haarlem147,590
Friesland Provincie Friesland8.649,777Leeuwarden Leeuwarden91,424
Flevoland Provincie Flevoland9.368,224Lelystad Lelystad70,741
Limburg Provincie Limburg10.1,091,697Maastricht Maastricht122,378
Zeeland Provincie Zeeland11.410,398Middelburg Middelburg46,485
Utrecht Provincie Utrecht12.1,170,622Utrecht Utrecht290,529
Overijssel Provincie Overijssel13.1,065,667Zwolle Zwolle111,805