This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Netherlands

Netherlands is made up of 13 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Netherlands. Information on all primary administrative regions in Netherlands.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Netherlands alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Netherlands

There are 13 regions in Netherlands in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Netherlands
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Drenthe Provincie Drenthe1.463,663Assen Assen62,237
Flevoland Provincie Flevoland2.368,224Lelystad Lelystad70,741
Friesland Provincie Friesland3.649,777Leeuwarden Leeuwarden91,424
Gelderland Provincie Gelderland4.2,080,675Arnhem Arnhem141,674
Groningen Provincie Groningen5.609,768Groningen Groningen181,194
Limburg Provincie Limburg6.1,091,697Maastricht Maastricht122,378
North Brabant Provincie Noord-Brabant7.2,331,709's-Hertogenbosch 's-Hertogenbosch134,520
North Holland Provincie Noord-Holland8.2,498,931Haarlem Haarlem147,590
North Holland Provincie Noord-Holland9.2,498,931Amsterdam Amsterdam741,636
Overijssel Provincie Overijssel10.1,065,667Zwolle Zwolle111,805
South Holland Provincie Zuid-Holland11.3,581,452--
Utrecht Provincie Utrecht12.1,170,622Utrecht Utrecht290,529
Zeeland Provincie Zeeland13.410,398Middelburg Middelburg46,485